top of page

Jake and Hudson: "#Pilot" FACTS

Hey guys, it's Hayden, so today I am in Seattle and I know it has been a few months since this episode was released, but I wanted to list some secrets about this first episode (Link at the bottom ) since it took a VERY long time to make and the episode means a lot to me and their are a lot of interesting facts about it so here you go....

FACTS ABOUT JAKE & HUDSON'S FIRST EPISODE!!!

Warning.... SPOILERS!

Scene 1

Scene starts with a cell phone wring and no fade, just directly enters scene to Jake and Hudson

Looking back at this, every time I watch this scene I love how it just directly starts, it's a bit dramatic, which is perfect for this first episode!

Originally, Jake and Hudson were supposed to enter the scene, Jake struggling with luggage and Hudson, of course, trailing behind him on PearPhone, and their are a few lines before Jake's phone wrings. However, when I was editing, I couldn't find the footage for that scene, so I tried the scene with just a phone wring and then a direct shot of us, and I later found the footage for the previous scene, but by then I was already hooked on the scene as it was, but who knows maybe someday I will release the original scene for all you people to see...

As you see, this scene is very short, but defiantly does a great job introducing the characters, and of course it ends with Jake falling down the stairs, little did the viewers know, this scene will be repeated in MANY other episodes, because Jake is very clumsy :)

- Here's A VERY INTERESTING FACT, we actually finished filming Jake and Hudson back in the summer of 2016 and planned to release the episode early October, however, that plan obviously didn't work out, the reason why is that the entire episode was lost due to the drive I store a lot of the files on my computer to, because space is a problem on my computer, anyways, the drive crashed and the whole first half of the season was deleted, so we were forced to delay the release date and rush filming of the season, but it turned out pretty well, funny enough though 1 scene remained untouched by the drive and that scene was the first scene ever shot for the first episode, the scene you just viewed!

Scene 2

This scenes stars Amber Williams, another recurring star on Jake and Hudson, as she gives the viewers a little back story on the characters

- Amber Williams is played my mom in real life, she is a lovely lady, and a pretty descent actress who has since gotten teased about from her friends mostly due to her appearance in the Halloween episode :) I love to make fool out of mom on the show and make her seem crazy, it's great!

You may also see a few Dan Schneider references here on Amber's desk

Scene 3

This scene takes the viewers to present day

- This scene was very quick and easy to film due to the fact that we had already filmed the scene a total of three times - not counting all the different takes

Also notice how are outfits make look familiar (We wear them in the theme song for season 1)

Scene 4

Hudson get's a call from his mother - who we are still yet to meet (Though that would be a cool episode)

- We also still haven't seen Jake at his job working for the coffee cart

I LOVE HUDSON'S LITTLE OUTBURST - It's so cool

Scene 5

Hudson walks in late at night, Jake is asleep

- This is one of the most dramatic scenes ever shot for this show (At least for season 1.... HINT HINT)

I hate the scene where Jake leaves and I walk over to the computer because it was so awkward and was just me talking into my iPhone - and yes I filmed that bit on the front camera of my iPhone because we wanted it to actually look like a computer's front CAM, this scene was also completely improvised

- I also really love that Blix bag, I took that from set to keep because it is SO COOL!

Scene 6

Jake wakes up and walks over to check computer

Oh my God, that computer looks SO FAKE! We just upgraded to Final Cut Pro editing software so, things will be picking up from here :)

- If you are wandering why Hudson's sleeping looks so awkward and artificial well that is because the "bed" on set, is literally a huge sheet over a couple of boxes, it looks fine on camera, but is so uncomfortable to sleep on!

I love how Jake falls down the stairs again in the last scene, this was actually Farzad's idea, he told me we should repeat this scene at the end of the episode and I completely agreed, it was brilliant and I almost made this a running gag on the show, like Modern Family, but I thought it would get boring... but I might bring it back one more time before the show ends :)

Anyways,

that's it for the first episode, thanks for reading this, I hoped you learned a lot! Watch the first episode here... and comment your favorite episode down bellow, and I really enjoyed making this so I might just make more facts for more future episodes, anyways SEE YAH!!! XOXO - Hayden


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page